Are you looking to be inspired, entertained, and even enlightened?

Then join us for our annual candle-lit celebration of lyrical poetry. In the homes and palaces of South Asian nobility, mehfils were gatherings where audiences would be treated to intimate evenings of courtly entertainment.

Today, our mehfil infuses the traditional event with a diverse set of voices and innovative performances that will stay in your mind long after the night is over.

We’re joined by Nadine Aisha Jassat, Charly Cox, Sophia Thakur, Sabrina Mahfouz and Juan Felipe Herrera. The evening will conclude with a performance by award-winning poet Imtiaz Dharker.

About The Poets

Imtiaz Dharker

Imtiaz Dharker is a poet, artist and video film maker. Awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry, 2014, her six collections include Over the Moon and her latest, Luck Is the Hook. Her poems have been broadcast on BBC Radio 3 and 4 as well as the BBC World Service.


Juan Felipe Herrera

Juan Felipe Herrera is the 21st Poet Laureate of the United States (2015 – 2016) and is the first Latino to hold the position. Herrera’s many collections of poetry include Notes on the Assemblage, Senegal Taxi, Half of the World in Light: New and Selected Poems. He was a recipient of the PEN, Beyond Margins Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Sophia Thakur

A multi-award-winning writer and speaker, Sophia Thakur is a unique voice. Sophia was the first poet to be invited to give two TED talks before the age of 20 and has taken part in events for by The Guardian, The Royal Family, Channel 4, BBC, Viacom, Nike and the Liberal Democrat and Labour party.

Charly Cox

Charly Cox is a writer, producer and poet. Her writing focuses on destigmatizing mental health and the coming-of-age of a young woman surviving the modern world. ‘She Must Be Mad’ is Charly’s first book.


Nadine Aisha Jassat

Nadine Aisha Jassat is a poet, writer and creative practitioner, working within the movement to end gender-based violence. She has received numerous accolades including a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award, and her debut collection ‘Let Me Tell You This’ was shortlisted for the prestigious Edwin Morgan Poetry Award.