Publisher, philanthropist and founder of National Poetry Day, William Sieghart, brings his feel-good Poetry Pharmacy to Bradford Literature Festival.

A collection of poems and prose designed to lift the spirits, provide comfort, inspire and delight, Sieghart’s latest anthology of therapeutic wordplay has been toured up and down the country and feels particularly necessary following the trying months we’ve all endured.

Sieghart will discuss poetic prescriptions that could help anyone struggling through a difficult time – from heartbreak and loneliness, to a lack of courage or even an excess of ego.

Buy the Book

  Click here to visit

  Click here to visit

About The Poet

William Sieghart

William has spent most of his adult life promoting poetry and its powers. He founded the Forward Prizes for Poetry, the UK’s biggest poetry prizes, in 1991 and soon after, National Poetry Day which is celebrated in the UK every October. William has been dispensing poetry prescriptions since his Poetry Pharmacy began in 2014 listening to thousands of people’s problems and prescribing them a poetic remedy. He has published many books, including The Poetry Pharmacy and The Poetry Pharmacy Returns in the UK and The Poetry Remedy in the US, and 100 Prized Poems – 25 years of the Forward Books.

About The Chair

Emily Zobel Marshall

Dr Emily Zobel Marshall is an author, poet and reader in Postcolonial Literature at the School of Cultural Studies at Leeds Beckett University. Her research specialisms are the cultures and literatures of the African Diaspora and she is widely published in these fields. She develops her creative work alongside her academic writing and had had poems published in the Peepal Tree Press Inscribe Anthology (2019), Magma (‘The Loss’, Issue 75, 2019), Smoke Magazine (Issue 67, 2020) and The Caribbean Writer (Vol 32, 2020 & Vol 35, 2021). She is Vice Chair of the David Oluwale Memorial Association, a charity committed to fighting racism and homelessness, and a Creative Associate of the art-based youth charity The Geraldine Connor Foundation.