You may think you know all there is to know about Star Wars, but do you really?

Many people are aware that George Lucas was heavily influenced by legendary Japanese filmmaker Akira Kurosawa’s 1958 epic The Hidden Fortress. The film’s combination of comedy, fairy-tale archetypes and sword fighting action, told from the perspective of lower status characters, is easily recognisable throughout the franchise.

However, what fewer people know is that Star Wars also resembles Kokoro, one of the most famous novels in modern Japanese literature. To celebrate the 40th anniversary of A New Hope, Japanese culture expert, Damian Flanagan, will share the inside story of how a samurai classic inspired the Jedi legend.

This event will provide a thrilling insight into how two cultures can come together and inspire a generation. It’s one for fans of Star Wars and Japanese culture alike.

About The Speaker

Damian Flanagan

Damian Flanagan is an award-winning author and translator. He has published several books on Japanese literature, including three critical studies of Natsume Soseki and a biography of Yukio Mishima. He has also written widely on East Asian politics, arts and society for numerous newspapers and magazines and has a strong interest in diverse literature from outside the English-speaking world.